thousands of free and legal carefully curated MP3's


Childhood friends Torbjorn Brundtland and Svein Berge have been toying with electronic equipment since their early teens. Fueled by a passion for classical composer Eric Satie, porn producer Francis Lai, and ambient pioneer Biosphere, they begged, borrowed, and blagged as much studio equipment they could get their hands on before releasing their '95 debut as Aedena Cycle on R&S ambient sublabel Apollo. After finishing school the two went their separate ways, only to reunite in Bergen and form Royksopp in the late '90s. Their '99 debut "So Easy" was released as a limited edition seven-inch on Mikal Telle's cunningly named record shop-cum-label, Telle (also home to Bjorn Torske, the late Erot, and Kings Of Convenience). Blending raw funk basslines with polished low down breaks and surreal echoed vocals, "So Easy" is easily their finest single to date. Their '01 follow up "Eple" made Roysopp a household name (in electronic circles) and prompted Wall Of Sound boss Mark Jones to pick up the phone and strike a deal.

Released in October '01, Royksopp's debut album Melody A.M. features ten tracks of glorious, glistening downtempo and house spiked with '80s-influenced pop sensibilities. It's safe to say this was one of the best electronic albums of '01.